Reviews

9.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.7
Property location
9.6
Facilities
9.4
Staff
9.8
Value
8.8

Reviews

    Robert
    gb

    Review score

    10
    18 September 2018
    Very peaceful
    Great place to relax and enjoy fantastic food and service.
    Guy
    es

    Review score

    10
    17 September 2018
    Nothing
    Everything
    Teresa
    gb

    Review score

    10
    17 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Gordon
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    16 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Nigel
    gb

    Review score

    10
    14 September 2018

    La Escondida

    Nothing
    Everything the setting is amazing up in the hills great food friendly staff and a great room (corner room) first class facilities as well brilliant outdoor and indoor pools
    Terry
    gb

    Review score

    10
    14 September 2018
    Nothing
    Amazing experience from arrival to departure. A true retreat
    John Wilkinson
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    13 September 2018
    Minor niggle was hotel was supposed to be non-smoking throughout, however people were smoking on the terrace while we were having our meal. The property description said no smoking on the property but this was not observed. Unfortunatley owners were not in residence during our stay as our main reason for booking was to meet the great man but this did not detract from a great stay. Also some options not available on the menu for duration of our stay.
    Apart from the smoking issue everything else was fine. It is a great location and forces you to chill out and relax. The menu is a bit limited but as there are so few rooms it can only be expected to some extent. The options we had were expertly prepared by an excellent chef. A great stop over with attentive staff, thoroughly enjoyable.
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    13 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Billy
    gb

    Review score

    10
    9 September 2018

    Superb hideaway.

    Hard to fault in any way. Planned development of onsite facilities can only add to the quality of the offering.
    Always nice to find somewhere which truly lives up to expectations. Beautiful location, great food, excellent attention to detail and lovely room. A genuine home from home plus the personal greetings of Terry & Yvette Venables. A memorable wedding anniversary.
    Jan
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    9 September 2018

    Lovely romantic hideaway

    The weather was a bit unseasonal but that isn’t the hotels fault. Not the cheapest but worth the money if you can afford it. I felt the pool should be a bit more private personally.
    Customer service was fantastic. Really clean. Could not be more helpful or nicer. Food was also fantastic. Very good. Chef is excellent. Stayed in Cabin 1 which was really private. For peace and tranquility it was second to none.
    Emma
    gb

    Review score

    10
    25 August 2018
    Place was amazing! Can’t fault it
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    19 August 2018
    Staff extremely attentive. Wonderful location.....peaceful and tranquil. 'Cosy' room was adequate for a 1 or 2 night stay. The food both at dinner and breakfast was excellent.. Sipping a G&T watching the sun go down was a bit special.
    Gary
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    18 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Craig
    gb

    Review score

    10
    17 August 2018

    Beautiful

    Only staying one night
    Perfection personified
    Roy
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    15 August 2018

    Good relaxing break with good food and spectacular scenery.

    The location is fantastic.
    Susan
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    11 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Malcolm
    es

    Review score

    10
    3 August 2018

    Just Perfect!

    Nothing it was all perfect!
    Everything!Room & bed exceptionally comfortable,staff were brilliant. Terry & Yvette Venables greeted you and chatted like old friends,you were made to feel more than welcome.The food was spectacular.
    amanda
    gb

    Review score

    10
    3 August 2018

    Perfect

    So quiet and relaxing...... the staff are amazing
    Harry
    es

    Review score

    10
    30 July 2018

    Exceptional stay, had all we wanted.

    Nothing, as I have said before area very remote so need a car and short stay is ideal.
    The whole experience was exceptional, we could not fault anything. As hotel is quite remote would suggest 2 day stay. We had a 5 day break too long in Penguila. A car is necessary as area is very remote.
    Karen
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    21 July 2018

    The most relaxing stay ever in this peaceful retreat.

    Nothing! If pushed to offer ideas for improvement then perhaps a small fitness area with an exercise bike and treadmill may be welcomed by some guests.
    Everything but a special mention for the friendly, attentive staff, the fantastic food, the beautiful, peaceful setting and the outdoor pool. Lovely massages in the treatment area. Well appointed rooms with tea / coffee tray provided on request. The owners have created something very special at La Escondida. We will be returning.
Loading reviews